LAKE OF SHADOWS by Phil Coulter

Add to cart
Payment options
Shipping options
Estimated to arrive by Thu, May 6th

This estimate is based on:

  • The seller's handling time
  • USPS Media Mail (2 to 9 business days) transit time to US

Actual delivery times may vary. Have shipping questions? Contact the seller

FREE via USPS Media Mail (2 to 9 business days) to United States
Qty available
6 in stock
Return policy
Returns Not Accepted
Lake of shadows by phil coulter

Item details

Brand New
Country/Region of Manufacture
United States
Number of Discs

More about this item

by Phil Coulter

List of Songs:

1. Lake of Shadows  
2. Sunlight on the Water  
3. Farewell to Inishowen  
4. The Flight of the Earls  
5. The Star of the Sea  
6. The Lough Swilly Railway  
7. For Those in Peril on the Sea  
8. The Lonesome Boatman  
9. The Year of the French  
10. The Shores of the Swilly  
11. Back to the Island  
12. Vive la Hoche  
13. Prayer for the Fisherman  
14. Take Me Home 

Product Details:
Genre: World Music,
Celtic, International
Release Date: 2001
Style: Celtic
Record Label: Sony Music Distribution (USA)
Artist: Phil Coulter
Format: CD
Release Year: 2001
UPC: 0886974846222  
Playing Time: 62 min.
Contributing Artists: Liam Neeson, Roma Downey, Sinead O'Connor, Dermot Byrne, Henry McCullough
Producer: Phil Coulter
Distributor: Sony Music
Recording Type: Studio
Recording Mode: Stereo


Album Notes:
Personnel includes: Phil Coulter (arranger, piano); Sinead O'Connor, Roma Downey, Liam Neeson, Aoife Ni Fhearraigh (vocals); Brian Agus (conductor); Ivan Gallagher (acoustic & electric guitars, mandolin); Henry McCullough (electric guitar); Louis Roden, Mike Healy (violin); Frank Gallagher (fiddle, viola, whistle); Tommy Kane, Michelle Lalor (viola); Richard Angel, Delia Lynch (cello); Catherine Mary Clancy (harp); Dermot Byrne (accordion);David L. Cooke (keyboards, programming); Malachy Robinson, Seamus Doyle(bass); Rory McCarron (drums); Brendan Monaghan (bodhran); The Ballyclare Male Choir, The Coolea Choir (background vocals).Includes liner notes by Phil Coulter.Personnel: Phil Coulter (piano); Ivan Gilliland (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin); Katie O'Connor, Ken Rice, Eileen Murphy (violin); Frank Gallagher (fiddle, viola, whistle); Michelle Lalor (viola); Kate Ellis, Delia Lynch (cello); Brendan Monaghan (bodhran).Photographer: Walter Pfeiffer.Arrangers: Dave Gold; Phil Coulter.Phil Coulter may have made his name way back when as a writer of pop hits, but since then he's practiced his craft on a broader musical canvas. Here the art becomes more intimate, dealing as it does with a most specific place in Ireland, Lough Swilly, and its associations, both warm and tragic, with his own history. In the '80s, the lake claimed the lives of both his brother and sister, but he remains drawn to it, and its pristine memories of his childhood vacations. The musical result isn't a million miles from the neo-classical Celticisms of Peadar O'Riada -- who helps out here -- but also tinged with sorrow, as on "The Shores of the Swilly," beautifully and sparely sung by Sinead O'Connor, which is the tale of Cyd Coulter's death. There's history in actor Liam Neeson's spoken-word piece, "The Flight of the Earls," and the mournful simplicity of the hymn "For Those in Peril on the Sea." There's also plenty of orchestral sweep to the melodies, evoking the water, which brings some of the album perilously close to new age music. Always, though, Coulter knows when to back off and not let things go too far. Even "Prayer for the Fishermen," with Roma Downey's invocation, never reaches overkill. In essence, this album is a catharsis of spirit and a memorial, and Coulter's touch ensures that it succeeds as both.
?~ Chris Nickson